skip navigation

2018 Mike Richter Award to be presented Friday night at NCAA Frozen Four

04/04/2018, 10:00am CDT
By Let's Play Hockey

Winner to be announced by Mike Richter at approximately 7:30 p.m., in St. Paul

The 2018 Mike Richter Award will be presented at ESPN’s Talk Frozen Four and #CawlidgeHawkey event at Tom Reid’s Hockey City Pub in St. Paul, Minn. (258 7th St W) on Friday, April 6 at approximately 7:30 p.m. CT.

The fifth annual award honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey. Mike Richter will present the award at the event which also features ESPN’s John Buccigross and Barry Melrose. Fans are encouraged to attend the free event, which will include a Q&A, autographs and lots of college hockey talk. Audio of the event will be streamed live on

In alphabetical order, following are the finalists for the 2018 Mike Richter Award:

Matthew Galajda - Cornell - Freshman
Tanner Jaillet - Denver - Senior
Cale Morris - Notre Dame - Sophomore
Colton Point - Colgate - Sophomore
Cayden Primeau - Northeastern - Freshman

The finalists combine for a 1.78 goals-against average, a .938 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.08.

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media. Past winners: 2017 Tanner Jaillet (Denver), 2016 Thatcher Demko (Boston College), 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell).

Top Stories

  • From college to the NHL

  • 04/03/2018, 3:30pm CDT , By Kevin Kurtt - Let's Play Hockey Editor
  • Over 300 former U.S. college players appeared in the NHL during the 2017-18 regular season
  • Read More

Tag(s): State Of Hockey  News  College  Mike Richter Award