skip navigation

AWARDS RECAP: Mittelstadt, Zumwinkle Highlight 2017 High School Hockey Awards

03/13/2017, 9:15pm CDT
By Staff

Individual Honors for Players, Coaches Announced

The 2017 Boys' and Girls' Hockey State Tournaments are now complete and congratulations are in order to teams from Grand Rapids (boys' Class AA), Hermantown (boys' Class A), Edina (girls' Class AA) and Blake (girls' Class A).

In addition to the trophies and medals given to the victorious tournament teams, a number of individual honors were awarded along the way, including Mr. and Ms. Hockey and coaches of the year. Following is a recap of some of the highest profile individual awards for 2017:

Credit: Nick Wosika.

Credit: Nick Wosika.

Mr. Hockey

Eden Prairie forward Casey Mittelstadt, who finished his senior season with 23 goals, 49 assists and 72 points, was named the 2017 Minnesota Mr. Hockey, an award that for 33 years has been bestowed upon the State of Hockey's top senior skater.

Mittelstadt, a University of Minnesota commit, is projected to be a first-round pick in the National Hockey League Entry Draft in June. 

Mittelstadt was also named the Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year earlier in the season. The Mr. Hockey Award is selected by a panel of NHL scouts, junior scouts and coaches and college coaches and presented annually by the Minnesota Minute Men.

Other finalists for the 2017 Mr. Hockey award included: Matt Anderson (Holy Family), Noah Cates (Stillwater), Nicky Leivermann (Eden Prairie), Ben Meyers (Delano), Micah Miller (Grand Rapids), Bauer Neudecker (St. Louis Park), Nick Perbix (Elk River), Dylan Samberg (Hermantown) and Ryan Sandelin (Hermantown). 

Credit: Peter Odney.

Credit: Peter Odney.

Ms. Hockey

Breck forward Grace Zumwinkle was named the 2017 Minnesota Ms. Hockey, after a stellar senior season in which she tallied 42 goals, 16 assists and 58 points in just 23 games. Zumwinkle helped lead the Mustangs to a 19-6-3 record.

The award, presented to the top senior girls' high school hockey player in Minnesota by the newspaper Let's Play Hockey, is based on academics, on-ice performance, community and extracurricular activities, citizenship and coachability.

Zumwinkle, who is committed to continue her hockey playing career at the University of Minnesota, was previously chosen as the Star Tribune Girls' Metro Player of the Year.

Other finalists for the 2017 Ms. Hockey award included: Grace Bowlby (Edina), Emily Brown (Blaine), Naomi Rogge (Eden Prairie) and Taylor Wente (Maple Grove).

Credit: Nick Wosika.

Credit: Nick Wosika.

Additional Player Awards

Frank Brimsek Award
*Top boys senior goalie
Jake Begley, Hill-Murray

Let's Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year
*Top girls senior goalie
Breanna Blesi, Maple Grove                                                       

Reed Larson Award
*Top boys senior defenseman
Dylan Samberg, Hermantown

Coach of the Year Awards

Class AA State Coach of the Year
Dave Esse, Cloquet-Esko-Carlton

Class A State Coach of the Year
Moose Younghans, St. Paul Johnson

Top Stories

  • Pace and intensity

  • 12/21/2017, 2:45pm CST , By John Russo, Let's Play Hockey Columnist
  • Playing and practicing at a good pace and with great intensity is generally what separates good from bad teams.
  • Read More

Tag(s): State Of Hockey  News