skip navigation

Andover's Boerger wins Ms. Hockey; Edina's Corniea wins Senior Goalie award

02/26/2023, 7:45pm CST
By Let's Play Hockey

Ella Boerger notched 78 points while leading Andover to the state title game this past weekend.

(Saint Paul, Minn.) – Andover’s Ella Boerger emerged from a strong field of 2023 seniors to win the 28th annual Ms. Hockey Award.

Boerger helped lead the Huskies to the state championship game, where they lost 4-1 to Gentry Academy Saturday, Feb. 25. The senior University of St. Thomas commit generated 78 points on the season on 41 goals and 37 assists to help lead the Huskies to a 27-4-0 record and a second straight trip to the title game. Last season Boerger notched 74 points in the Huskies undefeated run to a state title.

“At Andover we pride ourselves on having good hockey players but even better people, and that is who she is,” sad Andover Head Coach Melissa Volk. “On the ice she is a mix between a power forward but with finesse and is very good in our own end. She has been an instrumental part of our success these last four years in which she has won two state championships her freshman and junior seasons.”

Corniea has rewritten the record book for goaltenders in Minnesota,. She is the all-time winningest goalie in league history and is also the career leader in shutouts with 45. She is also a 4-time all-state recipient and has been named all-conference four times as well. This season she has faced 618 shots and made 592 saves and posted a 0.92 goals against average with a save percentage of .958. She posted 11 shutouts this season as well, leading the Hornets to a third-place finish at the state tournament. She will continue her playing career at Princeton University. 

 “Uma is the best goalie to ever come through our program and in my opinion, she has been the best goalie in the state for the last four  years,” said Edina head coach Sami Cowger. 

Both awards are chosen by a panel of high school and college coaches and sponsored by the Minnesota Wild. 

Former Ms. Hockey winners include: Vivian Jungels of Edina (2022) Peyton Hemp of Andover (2021) Olivia Mobley of Breck (2020), Madeline Wethington of Blake (2019), Taylor Heise of Red Wing (2018), Grace Zumwinkle of Breck (2017), Presley Norby of Minnetonka (2016), Taylor Williamson of Edina (2015), Sydney Baldwin of Minnetonka (2014), Dani Cameranesi of Blake (2013), Hannah Brandt of Hill-Murray (2012), Karley Sylvester of Warroad (2011), Bethany Brausen of Roseville (2010) Becky Kortum of Hopkins (2009), Sarah Erickson of Bemidji (2008), Katharine Chute of Blake (2007), Allie Thunstrom of North St. Paul (2006), Gigi Marvin of Warroad (2005), Erica McKenzie of Hastings (2004), Andrea Nichols of Hibbing/Chisholm (2003), Ashley Albrecht of South St. Paul (2002), Renee Curtin of Roseville (2001), Krissy Wendell of Park Center (2000), Ronda Curtin of Roseville (1999), Laura Slominski of Burnsville (1998), Annamarie Holmes of Apple Valley (1997) and Winny Brodt of Roseville (1996).

Former Senior Goalie of the Year Award winners include: Maggie Malecha of Northfield (2022), Brynn DuLac of Minnetonka (2021) Anna LaRose of North Wright County (2020), Calla Frank of White Bear Lake (2019), Alexa Dobchuk of Eden Prairie (2018), Breanna Blesi of Maple Grove (2017), Jenna Brenneman of Breck (2016), Frances Marshall of Thief River Falls (2015), Erin O’Neil of Hopkins (2014), Sydney Rossman of Minnetonka (2013), Erika Allen of Roseville (2012), Julie Friend of Minnetonka (2011), Kallie Billadeau of Hopkins (2010) Laura Bellamy of Duluth (2009), Alyssa Grogan of Eagan (2008), Ashley Nixon of Blaine (2007), Alannah McCready of Centennial (2006), Johanna Ellison of Cloquet/Esko/Carlton (2005), Emily Brookshaw of Hill-Murray (2004), Robin Doepke of Chaska (2003), Amber Hasbargen of Warroad (2002), Jody Horak of Blaine (2001), Shari Vogt of River Lakes (2000) and Katie Beauduy of Blaine (1999).

Uma Corniea during Hockey Day MN. The senior netminder is the career leader in wins and shutouts in the state of Minnesota.

Tag(s): State Of Hockey  Ms. Hockey  LPH Senior Goalie