skip navigation

Hobey Hat Trick finalists announced

03/31/2022, 12:30pm CDT
By Press release

All three players have Minnesota ties

Bobby Brink, Ben Meyers and Dryden McKay will vie for college hockey's top honor

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award Committee is pleased to announce the three Hobey Baker Hat Trick finalists for the 2022 award, honoring college hockey's top player. Alphabetically, they are: Bobby Brink, a junior forward from the University of Denver; Dryden McKay, a senior goaltender from Minnesota State University; and Ben Meyers, a junior forward from the University of Minnesota.

The three finalists were selected from the initial list of Top Ten candidates by the 30-member Selection Committee and an additional round of online fan balloting to determine this year's Hobey Baker Award winner. Criteria for the award includes: displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game; strength of character on and off the ice; sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

The three hat trick finalists have a distinct Minnesota flavor. Two of the three were born and raised in Minnesota (Brink and Meyers) and two of the three play for Minnesota schools (McKay and Meyers) who incidentally, will be opposing each other in the national championship semi-final game on April 7. A record six of the top ten Hobey Baker finalists will be playing in the NCAA national championship tournament. All four schools will have a Hobey top ten finalist in the tourney.

This year's Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced Friday, April 8, 2022 live on NHL Network beginning at 6:00pm ET. The 42nd annual Hobey Baker Award show will also include the announcements of the Hockey Humanitarian Award, the East and West All-American Teams and the Mike Richter Award for the nation's top college hockey goalie. Alphabetically, here is more on this year's three Hobey Hat Trick finalists.


Bobby Brink, a former Minnetonka High School star, has led Denver to the Frozen Four

Bobby Brink – University of Denver – Junior, Forward, Minnetonka, Minnesota

Known as a dangerous offensive threat anytime he's on the ice, Brink enters the NCAA Frozen Four national championship tournament as the nation's leader in points, assists and points per game, averaging 1.44 per game. Gifted with creative skills and an elite hockey sense, Brink had a breakout season winning the NCHC scoring title. Additional accolades from the conference included Player and Forward of the Year honors and First Team all-conference. A player who is used in all situations, Brink helped the Pioneers to a first-place tie in the NCHC regular season. Now, Brink will help DU go for their ninth national title and first since 2017.

·      Currently has 14 goals, 42 assists for 56 points – has 5 power play goals and 2 game winners – has points in 27 of his last 31 games – has 16 multiple point games

·      Business Administration major – 3-time NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athlete

·      Philadelphia draft (2nd round, 2019) – won gold at 2021 World Junior Championship

Dryden McKay has led Minnesota State-Mankato to the Frozen Four. The senior netminder is the all-time career leader in shutouts.

Dryden McKay – Minnesota State University – Senior, Goaltender, Downers Grove, Illinois

For the second straight year, Dryden McKay is a top-three finalist for college hockey's top two individual awards: the Hobey Baker Award and the Mike Richter Award (top goalie in the nation). He has helped guide the Mavericks to their second straight Frozen Four appearance after backstopping them to their NCAA record fifth straight conference regular season title. Along the way, McKay established an NCAA record of 37 wins on the season and his 34 career shutouts is also a national record. The new CCHA conference honored the two-time All American as its Player of the Year, Goalie of the Year and First Team all-conference. This marks the third straight year McKay is a top ten finalist for both the Hobey and Richter Awards.

·      Current record is 37-4-0 – goals against average 1.28 (2nd in the nation) – saves percentage .934 (3rd in the nation) – has recorded 10 shutouts (tied-2nd in the nation)

·      Finance major – 2-time conference Scholar-Athlete and 3-time All-Academic

·      Allowed two or less goals in 34 of 41 games played – current streak of 17 straight wins

Ben Meyers, a former Delano High School standout, has led the Gophers to the Frozen Four.

Ben Meyers - University of Minnesota – Junior, Forward, Delano, Minnesota

Meyers trademark style of play as a responsible, competitive 200-foot player has elevated him into the national spotlight. He co-captained the Golden Gophers to the Big Ten regular season title while finishing second in conference scoring. The conference rewarded him as its Player of the Year and First Team all-conference. Additionally, Meyers played for Team USA at the recent Beijing Olympics finishing second in team scoring with 4 points in 4 games. Since his return to campus, Meyers has produced six goals and nine assists for 15 points in just seven games, including an overtime goal and three assists at last weekend's Worcester Regional.

·      Currently has 17 goals, 24 assists for 41 points in 34 games – has 2 power play goals and 5 game winners (2 in overtime) – has 13 multiple point games (6 in the last 7 games)

·      Entrepreneurial Management Major – two-time Big Ten All-Academic

·      Is 57.9% on face-offs – 7th in the nation in pts per game average at 1.24

For more information on the Hobey Baker Memorial Award or to access the Hobey logo, visit The website has additional bio info, statistics and video of the finalists. Check us out on Facebook at: 

The Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced on Friday, April 8 during a live broadcast on NHL Network and streamed at beginning at 6pm ET. Additional national awards will also be announced during the show.

Tag(s): State Of Hockey