skip navigation

NAHL Robertson Cup National Championship begins today in Blaine

05/10/2019, 1:45pm CDT
By Staff Reports

Fogerty Ice Arena to host Johnstown, Amarillo, Aberdeen and Fairbanks

2019 NAHL Robertson Cup Schedule (all times Central)

Friday, May 10 #1 Johnstown vs. #4 Fairbanks 4:30 p.m.
#2 Amarillo vs. #3 Aberdeen 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, May 11 #1 Johnstown vs. #4 Fairbanks 4:30 p.m.
#2 Amarillo vs. #3 Aberdeen 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, May 12 #1 Johnstown vs. #4 Fairbanks* 3 p.m.
#2 Amarillo vs. #3 Aberdeen* 6 p.m.
Tuesday, May 14 Robertson Cup National Championship Game 7 p.m.
* if necessary

The North American Hockey League's 2019 Robertson Cup National Championship will be played at Fogerty Ice Arena in Blaine, Minn., from May 10-14. The Robertson Cup is awarded to the national playoff champion of the NAHL.

The four divisional playoff champions who have qualified for the 2019 Robertson Cup Championship are: #1 Johnstown Tomahawks (East Division), #2 Amarillo Bulls (South Division), #3 Aberdeen Wings (Central Division), and the #4 Fairbanks Ice Dogs (Midwest Division). Clubs were seeded 1-4 for the event based upon their finish in the NAHL regular-season standings.

The #1 Seed will face the #4 seed in a best of three series. The #2 seed will face the #3 seed in a best of three series. The two series winners will advance to a one-game Championship Game to determine the Robertson Cup Champion.

For more information on the Robertson Cup Championship Tournament, including schedule, scout information, ticket
information, hotels, rental cars and other event information, click here

All 2019 NAHL Robertson Cup Playoff games can be viewed live and in HD on HockeyTV.

Overtime Procedure: During the all Robertson Cup Championship games, if the score is tied after three periods of play the following overtime procedure shall take place. Teams shall return to their dressing room and the ice shall be resurfaced. A 15-minute intermission shall take place. A 20-minute, sudden death, overtime period shall be played with five skaters a side. The game shall terminate upon a goal being scored and the Club scoring declared the winner. If no goal is scored, the same procedure as above shall be repeated until a winner has been determined.

The event will be held in cooperation with the 2019 NAHL Combine and the 2019 18U Top Prospects Tournament. Entering its sixth year in 2019, the Combine will accept applications from all players with birth years from 2002-05. The 18U Top Prospects Tournament will be made up of some of the best players from Tier I, high school, and junior leagues across the United States. All players will be introduced to a weekend that involves the 'NAHL Experience,' which will consist of competitive hockey, education of the future levels of hockey, academic preparation for NCAA hockey and exposure to professional, college and junior scouts.

The Roseville Visitors Association is a proud partner of the 2019 NAHL Robertson Cup Championship. “The Roseville Visitors Association is honored to partner with the North American Hockey League to host teams and spectators in our community. Hockey is a big tradition in Minnesota and we’re delighted to be part of the Robertson Cup,” said Shannon Thomasser, Director of Sales of the Roseville Visitors Association.

The NAHL, the only USA Hockey-sanctioned Tier II Junior league boasting 26 teams from across North America, prides itself on the social maturity and skill development of student-athletes ages 16-20 with aspirations of advancing to collegiate and/or professional hockey. So far during the 2017-18 season, the NAHL has recorded 273 NCAA commitments, 83% of which were NCAA Division I commitments. In addition, nine players with NAHL ties were selected in the 2018 NHL Entry Draft.

Top Stories

Tag(s): State Of Hockey  News