skip navigation

Reed Larson Award

About the Reed Larson Award

In hockey, forwards and goaltenders tend to get the most attention with their gaudy offensive numbers and highlight-reel saves, respectively. Meanwhile, on the blue line are those who play tough defense, guard the front of the net and start the offensive rush up the ice.

No award existed exclusively for Minnesota's top high school blueliners. With that in mind in 2013, Let's Play Hockey created the Reed Larson Award to annually honor the state's top senior boys' high school defenseman.

Reed Larson, a native of Minneapolis, played on the blue line for Minneapolis Roosevelt High School and the University of Minnesota, followed by 904 regular season games in the NHL, most notably as a captain of the Detroit Red Wings. He finished his career with 685 points and is now enshrined in the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame.

The winner of the Reed Larson Award is based on the following criteria: academics, community/extra-curricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.

The winner of the Reed Larson Award is presented each March at one of the Boys' Hockey State Tournament Banquets at Roy Wilkins Auditorium.

Reed Larson Award Winners

2018-19 Mike Koster Chaska
2017-18 Luke LaMaster Duluth East
2016-17 Dylan Samberg Hermantown
2015-16 Wyatt Aamodt Hermantown
2014-15 Jacob Olson Hill-Murray
2013-14 Luc Snuggerud Eden Prairie
2012-13 Jake Bischoff Grand Rapids

Reed Larson Award News