skip navigation

Candidates announced for 2019 Reed Larson Award

02/28/2019, 8:45am CST
By Let's Play Hockey

16 nominees named for award presented to Minnesota's top senior boys’ high school defenseman.

In hockey, forwards and goaltenders tend to get the most attention with their gaudy offensive numbers and highlight-reel saves, respectively. Meanwhile, on the blue line are those who play tough defense, guard the front of the net and start the offensive rush up the ice.

Let’s Play Hockey is proud to announce the 16 candidates for the 2019 Reed Larson Award, an annual award presented to the state’s top senior boys’ high school defenseman. 

The candidates have scored an average of seven goals and 20 assists this season for their respective teams. All 16 players have been bound to the textbooks for the past several years as they check in with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.60. 

Reed Larson, a native of Minneapolis, played on the blue line for Minneapolis Roosevelt High School and the University of Minnesota, followed by 904 regular season games in the NHL, most notably as a captain of the Detroit Red Wings. He finished his career with 685 points and is now enshrined in the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame.

The winner of the Reed Larson Award will be based on the following criteria: academics, community/extra-curricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance. 

The winner of the Reed Larson Award will be presented at one of the State Tournament Banquets on Tuesday or Wednesday, March 5 or 6 at Roy Wilkins Auditorium.

Past recipients: 2018 Luke LaMaster (Duluth East), 2017 Dylan Samberg (Hermantown), 2016 Wyatt Aamodt (Hermantown), 2015 Jacob Olson (Hill-Murray), 2014 Luc Snuggerud (Eden Prairie), 2013 Jake Bischoff (Grand Rapids).

2019 Reed Larson Award Candidates

Tommy Bergsland Wayzata 27 11 34 45
Grant Docter Minnetonka 27 10 26 36 Michigan Tech
Sam Elasky Lakeville South 25 2 7 9
Joey Foss Elk River/Zimmerman 27 5 15 20
Darian Gotz Hermantown 27 10 17 27 Minnesota Duluth
Nick Hauck Blaine 25 3 31 34
Jake Holmstrom Southwest Christian/Richfield 24 7 3 10
Mike Koster Chaska 26 20 41 61 Minnesota
Keegan Langefels Eden Prairie 25 8 13 21
Josh Luedtke Minnetonka 27 11 25 36 Denver
Danny Magnuson Cretin-Derham Hall 26 9 30 39
Joe McNamara Buffalo 26 5 20 25
Frederick Paine Duluth East 23 5 18 23
Darren Shykes Duluth Denfeld 26 3 20 23
Mike Vorlicky Edina 27 4 21 23 Wisconsin
Gavin Wendorf Bloomington Jefferson 23 5 6 11

Top Stories

Tag(s): Awards  Reed Larson Award