skip navigation

Ten semifinalists announced for 2018 Mike Richter Award

03/08/2018, 9:00am CST
By Let's Play Hockey

Fifth annual award to be presented at 2018 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in St. Paul

2018 Mike Richter Award Semifinalists

Matthew Galajda Cornell Freshman 1446:45 19-3-2 1.49 .941 8 574
Dávid Hrenák St. Cloud State Freshman 1080:30 11-4-2 1.94 .928 3 452
Tanner Jaillet Denver Senior 1891:41 17-7-7 1.93 .926 5 764
Jake Kielly Clarkson Sophomore 1968:08 19-8-6 1.86 .929 7 796
Connor LaCouvee Minnesota State Senior 1545:14 22-3-1 1.75 .917 3 494
Cale Morris Notre Dame Sophomore 1808:37 22-7-1 1.92 .945 4 1005
Colton Point Colgate Sophomore 1817:05 15-10-5 1.62 .948 6 896
Cayden Primeau Northeastern Freshman 1755:43 17-6-5 1.85 .933 4 751
Sean Romeo Ohio State Junior 1906:16 19-8-5 2.08 .925 2 816
Hunter Shepard Minnesota Duluth Sophomore 1912:45 19-12-1 2.04 .923 6 780

Let’s Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation announced today the 10 semifinalists for the 2018 Mike Richter Award, which honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey. The five finalists for the fifth annual award will be announced on Thursday, March 22, with the winner presented on Friday, April 6 at the 2018 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in St. Paul, Minn. 

The semifinalists combine for a 1.85 goals-against average, a .932 save percentage, five shutouts and a grade-point average of 3.18.

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The semifinalists, finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:
-    Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
-    Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
-    Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
-    Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season
-    Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community

Past winners: 2017 Tanner Jaillet (Denver), 2016 Thatcher Demko (Boston College), 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell)

NOTES: There are five Americans, four Canadians and one Slovak among the semifinalists • The 10 semifinalists represent four different U.S. states – Minnesota leads with two, followed by Colorado, New Jersey and North Carolina with one each • Three Canadian provinces are represented – Ontario leads with two, followed by Alberta and British Columbia • Conference breakdown – Big Ten 2, ECAC 3, Hockey East 1, NCHC 3, WCHA 1 • The semifinalists include two seniors, one junior, four sophomore and three freshmen.


About Let’s Play Hockey: In its 45th season and based in Minnesota, Let’s Play Hockey is the longest-running hockey newspaper in the U.S., serving the largest hockey market in the nation. Let’s Play Hockey is published 29 times a year – weekly during the hockey season and monthly during the offseason.

About the Herb Brooks Foundation: The Herb Brooks Foundation is dedicated to growing the game of hockey and giving the game back to the kids. Founded in 2003 by Dan Brooks and Kelly Brooks Paradise, Herb’s family and friends created the foundation to preserve his legacy by continuing his life’s work by growing the game by “making hockey fun for kids and letting them learn to love the game the way we did.”  

Tag(s): State Of Hockey  News  College  Mike Richter Award