skip navigation

CCM High Performance Tier I League Playoffs Start This Weekend

09/26/2017, 5:45am CDT
By Courtesy Minnesota Hockey

Note: This story originally appeared on on Sept. 25, 2017.

The 2017 CCM High Performance Tier I Leagues, presented by Mayo Clinic Sports Medicine, will host League Playoffs for its Girls 14U, Youth 14U and Youth 15 classifications this weekend at Schwan Super Rink in Blaine, Minn. The playoffs will begin Friday, September 29 with League Champions being determined on Sunday, October 1.

For the second consecutive year, League Champions will be awarded the Taconite Trophy. The original Taconite Trophy was instituted in the early 1960’s when the University of Minnesota Duluth and University of Minnesota were the only teams in Minnesota at the NCAA Division I level. The arch-rivals played a four game season series with the trophy serving as the ultimate prize.

The original Taconite Trophy has since been lost, but Minnesota Hockey is excited to honor this piece of Minnesota hockey tradition by naming the League Championship trophy for each of its Tier I Leagues after it.

In addition, the top three teams from Youth 14U and top four teams from Girls 14U and Youth 15 will advance to the USA Hockey Minnesota District Playoffs in Plymouth, Minn. The winner of the District Playoffs will advance to the 2018 USA Hockey National Championships.

Visit for first-round pairings and playoff brackets.

Top Stories

Tag(s): State Of Hockey  Youth  News