skip navigation

Minnesota's 2017 Youth State Champions Crowned

03/20/2017, 9:15pm CDT
By Recaps Courtesy Youth Hockey Hub (YHH)

Edina Scores Five Titles; Minnetonka, White Bear Lake, Chaska-Chanhassen Among Winners

Peewee AA State Champ Chaska-Chanhassen. Credit: Courtesy Minnesota Hockey.

Peewee AA State Champ Chaska-Chanhassen. Credit: Courtesy Minnesota Hockey.

Bantam AA Recap

With fresh legs that had been spared an overtime contest, White Bear Lake wheeled past a battle-tested Osseo-Maple Grove squad to earn a 5-2 win and claim the state title in Marshall. 

After OMG took a 1-0 lead on a goal by Benjamin Leafblad, the Bears roared back with four scores of their own, with goals coming from Sam Newpower, Tyler Schauer, Lleyton Roed and Billy Rose. 

OMG's Connor Kelley pulled the Leafbirds within two late in the third, but Cameron Berg iced the game for the Bears with an empty-netter for the eventual 5-2 final.

Bantam A Recap

The paths taken by Orono and Edina to earn a spot in Sunday's Bantam A championship could not have been more different. 

The two-time defending champion Spartans had outscored its quarterfinal and semifinal opponents 14-3, while the Hornets scrapped for a 3-1 victory over Duluth East in the quarters, and pulled off a 4-3 overtime win over MAML the next night. 

Against the Spartans, the Hornets proved they didn't need an extra session, as Anderson Blum scored the game-winning-goal early in the third period en route to the 2-1 win. 

Alexander Illies scored the first goal for Edina in the first period, which was answered by Orono's Jack Anderson in the second frame. 

For additional recaps of championship games at the Bantam, Peewee and Girls' levels, visit

For championship game box scores at all levels, visit

Top Stories

Tag(s): State Of Hockey  Youth  News