skip navigation

College Hockey Playoffs Full of Minnesota Flavor

03/16/2016, 6:15pm CDT
By Steve Mann

More Than 100 Players With State of Hockey Ties Take the Ice This Week

It's playoff time in college hockey and that means Minnesota teams and players battling for conference trophies and, ultimately, NCAA glory. 

The State of Hockey is typically well-represented with dozens of homegrown players taking the postseason ice. In fact, last season 17 Minnesotans participated in the Frozen Four. From 2000-2014, every NCAA men's ice hockey champion had at least one Minnesotan on its roster. 

This year it's more of the same, with four Minnesota D-I teams and more than 100 Minnesota-born players in action this week.

Justin Kloos is one of 10 Lakeville natives participating in this week's college hockey playoffs. Credit: Gopher Athletics.

Justin Kloos is one of 10 Lakeville natives participating in this week's college hockey playoffs. Credit: Gopher Athletics.

Big Ten - March 17-19

March 17, Xcel Energy Center, St. Paul, Minn.

  • Michigan State vs. Ohio State, 7:30 pm CT (winner faces Minnesota on March 18)
  • Wisconsin vs. Penn State, 4 pm CT (winner faces Michigan on March 18)

Minnesota-Born Players

  • Michigan (0) - None
  • Michigan State (1) - John Draeger, D, Faribault
  • Ohio State (4) - Drew Brevig, D, Lakeville; Miguel Fidler, F, Edina; Tyler Nanne, F, Edina; John Wiitala, F, Lakeville; *Head Coach Steve Rohlik, St. Paul
  • Wisconsin (7) - Tanner Barnes, F, Eagan; Grant Besse, F, Plymouth; Ryan Breon, G, Orono; Matthew Freytag, F, Wayzata; Cullen Hurley, F, Eagan; Kevin Schulze, D, White Bear Lake; Eddie Wittchow, D, Burnsville
  • Penn State (2) - Vince Pedrie, D, Rochester; Eric Scheid, F, Blaine
  • Minnesota (23) - Jake Bischoff, D, Grand Rapids; Michael Brodzinski, D, Ham Lake; Taylor Cammarata, F, Plymouth; Ryan Collins, D, Bloomington; Ryan Coyne, G, Plymouth; Hudson Fasching, F, Burnsville; Jack Glover, D, Golden Valley; Steve Johnson, D, Excelsior; Brock Kautz, G, Rochester; Justin Kloos, F, Lakeville; Nick Lehr, G, Roseville; Vinni Lettieri, F, Excelsior; A.J. Michaelson, F, Apple Valley; Ryan Norman, F, Maplewood; Jack Ramsey, F, Chanhassen; Ryan Reilly, F, Chanhassen; Connor Reilly, F, Chanhassen; Mitch Rogge, F, Eden Prairie; Tyler Sheehy, F, Burnsville; Curt Simonson, D, Grand Rapids; Darian Romanko, F, Shoreview; Jack Sadek, D, Lakeville; Nick Seeler, D, Eden Prairie; *Head Coach Don Lucia, Grand Rapids

NCHC - March 18-19

March 18, Target Center, Minneapolis, Minn.

  • Denver vs. St. Cloud State, 7:30 pm CT
  • Minnesota Duluth vs. North Dakota, 4 pm CT

Minnesota-Born Players

  • Denver (3) - Blake Hillman, D, Elk River; Sean Mostrom, D, Wayzata; Matt VanVoohis, D, Edina
  • St. Cloud State (9) - T.J. Belisle, F, Andover; Joey Benik, F, Andover; Will Borgen, D, Moorhead; Charlie Lindgren, G, Lakeville; Judd Peterson, F, Duluth; Ethan Prow, D, Sauk Rapids; Jimmy Schuldt, D, Minnetonka; Blake Winiecki, F, Lakeville; David Zevnik, G, Lakeville; *Head Coach Bob Motzko, Austin
  • Minnesota Duluth (16) - Tony Cameranesi, F, Maple Grove; Willie Corrin, D, International Falls; Cal Decowski, F, Andover; Adam Johnson, F, Hibbing; Karson Kuhlman, F, Esko; Nick McCormack, D, Ramsey; Matt McNeely, G, Burnsville; Dan Molenaar, D, Eden Prairie; Kyle Osterberg, F, Lakeville; Neal Pionk, D, Hermantown; Willie Raskob, D, Hastings; Charlie Sampair, F, White Bear Lake; Jared Thomas, F, Hermantown; Dominic Toninato, F, Duluth; Andy Welinski, D, Duluth; Austyn Young, F, South St. Paul; *Head Coach, Scott Sandelin, Hibbing
  • North Dakota (9) - Ryan Anderson, G, Roseau; Gage Ausmus, D, East Grand Forks; Brock Boeser, F, Burnsville; Shane Gersich, F, Chaska; Trevor Olson, F, Duluth; Austin Poganski, F, St. Cloud; Tucker Poolman, D, East Grand Forks; Hayden Shaw, D, Woodbury; Christian Wolanin, D, Rochester

WCHA - March 18-19

March 18, Van Andel Arena, Grand Rapids, Mich.

  • Bowling Green vs. Minnesota State, 3 pm CT
  • Michigan Tech vs. Ferris St., 6:30 pm CT

Minnesota-Born Players

  • Bowling Green (4) - Mitchell McLain, F, Baxter; Tommy Burke, G, Chaska; Matt Pohlkamp, F, Baxter; Chris Pohlkamp, D, Baxter
  • Ferris State (0) - None
  • Michigan Tech (4) - Tyler Heinonen, F, Delano; Walker Hyland, D, Woodbury; Jake Jackson, F, Maplewood; Dylan Steman, F, Hanover
  • Minnesota State (4) - Max Coatta, F, Minnetonka; C.J. Franklin, F, Forest Lake; Clint Lewis, D, Burnsville; Zach Stepan, F, Hastings; *Head Coach, Mike Hastings, Crookston
St. Cloud State has nine native Minnesotans on its roster, including Joey Benik from Andover. Credit: SCSU Athletic Media Relations.

St. Cloud State has nine native Minnesotans on its roster, including Joey Benik from Andover. Credit: SCSU Athletic Media Relations.

Hockey East - March 18-19

March 18, TD Garden, Boston, Mass.

  • Massachusetts-Lowell vs. Providence, 4 pm CT
  • Northeastern vs. Boston College, 7 pm CT

Minnesota-Born Players

  • Northeastern (0) - None
  • Boston College (0) - None
  • Massachusetts-Lowell (1) - Chris Forney, D, Thief River Falls
  • Providence (0) - None

Atlantic Hockey - March 18-19

March 18, Blue Cross Arena, Rochester, N.Y.

  • RIT vs. Air Force, 7:30 pm CT
  • Army West Point vs. Robert Morris, 4 pm CT

Minnesota-Born Players

  • Army (3) - Conor Andrle, F, St. Louis Park; Nick Decenzo, F, Hibbing; Joe Kozlak, F, Duluth
  • RIT (0) - None
  • Air Force (8) - Dan Bailey, D, St. Cloud; Erik Baskin, F, Minnetonka; Phil Boje, D, Shoreview; Jake Erickson, D, Stillwater; Matt Koch, D, Hastings; Matt Perry, F, Lakeville; A.J. Reid, F, Lakeville; Matt Serratore, F, Bemidji; *Head Coach Frank Serratore, Coleraine
  • Robert Morris (0) - None

ECAC - March 18-19

March 18, Herb Brooks Arena, Lake Placid, N.Y.

  • St. Lawrence vs. Harvard, 6:30 pm CT
  • Dartmouth vs. Quinnipiac, 3 pm CT

Minnesota-Born Players

  • St. Lawrence (2) - Christian Horn, F, Plymouth; Patrick Steinhauser, F, Plymouth
  • Harvard (2) - Jake Horton, D, Lake Elmo; Jacob Olson, D, St. Paul
  • Dartmouth (4) - Ryan Bullock, D, Eden Prairie; James Kruger, G, Minnetonka; Grand Opperman, F, Wayzata; Brett Patterson, D, Eden Prairie
  • Quinnipiac (5) - Jacob Meyers, G, Minnetonka; Canon Pieper, F, Roseville; Bo Pieper, F, Roseville; Tommy Schutt, F, Chanhassen; Derek Smith, D, Apple Valley

Credit: Courtesy College Hockey Inc.

Credit: Courtesy College Hockey Inc.

Top Stories

Tag(s): News