skip navigation

Record 123 Student Athletes Honored as WCHA Scholar-Athletes

02/19/2016, 6:30pm CST
By Staff

Bemidji State Leads the Way With 22 Honorees

Credit: Bemidji State University Athletics.

Credit: Bemidji State University Athletics.

From WCHA press release:

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA), through Bowling Green State University President Mary Ellen Mazey (Chair, Men’s League), Minnesota State University, Mankato Faculty Athletics Representative Jeffrey Pribyl (Chair, Women’s League) and Commissioner Bill Robertson, today announced that a record 123 conference-member student-athletes make up the 11th annual group of WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award recipients for 2015-16.

“On behalf of the entire Western Collegiate Hockey Association family, we extend our sincere congratulations to all of our men’s and women’s WCHA Scholar-Athletes for 2015-16,” said Dr. Mazey, Dr. Pribyl and Robertson in a joint statement. “The individuals who compete in our conference are truly exceptional, while embodying the very best of the student-athlete ideal. The record number of Scholar-Athlete Award recipients this year demonstrates the ongoing and successful commitment of our member institutions to the WCHA mission of providing the very best experience, both on and off the ice.”

“We are thrilled to publicly recognize the wonderful academic accomplishments of these outstanding young men and women. Our Scholar-Athlete Award honorees compete at the highest level of their chosen sport, while also maintaining exemplary academic standards – a testament to their tremendous commitment, effort and dedication in all facets of their collegiate life. These student-athletes are terrific representatives of the WCHA and its member institutions; we commend and applaud each and every one of them.”

Credit: Minnesota State Athletics.

Credit: Minnesota State Athletics.

Bemidji State led the way with 22 honorees. Following are the student-athletes, from Minnesota-based teams, to be recognized:

Bemidji State University

Nate Arentz (Jr., F, Lakeville, Minn.); Kyle Bauman (So., F, Apopka, Fla.); Michael Bitzer (So., G, Moorhead, Minn.); Mackenzie Bruch (Sr., G, Barrie, Ontario); Carley Esse (Jr., D, Cloquet, Minn.); Reilly Fawcett (So., F, Proctor, Minn.); Brendan Harms*** (Sr., F, Steinbach, Manitoba); Madison Hutchinson** (Jr., D, Manitou, Manitoba); Alexis Joyce (So., D, Lakeville, Minn.); Megan Lushanko** (Sr., F, Chisago City, Minn.); Graeme McCormack*** (Sr., D, Thunder Bay, Ontario); Lauren Miller** (Jr., F, Brockville, Ontario); Reid Mimmack*** (Jr., G, Brainerd, Minn.); Hanna Moher*** (Sr., F, Milton, Ontario); Brittni Mowat** (Jr., G, Glenboro, Manitoba); Charlie O’Connor (Jr., F, Elk Grove Village, Ill.); Ruslan Pedan (Jr., D, Moscow, Russia); Emma Terres (So., F/D, New Hope. Minn.); Summer Thibodeau (So., F, Maple Grove, Minn.); Kaitlyn Tougas (Sr., F, Thunder Bay, Ontario); Jesse Wilkins (So., G, Calgary, Alberta); ); Whitney Wivoda**** (Sr., F, Fairbanks, Alaska)

University of Minnesota

Hannah Brandt** (Sr., F, Vadnais Heights, Minn.); Kelsey Cline** (Jr., D/F, Bloomington, Minn.); Kelly Pannek (So., F, Plymouth, Minn.); Sidney Peters** (So., G, Geneva, Ill.); Cara Piazza (So., F, Darien, Ill.); Kate Schipper** (Jr., F, Brooklyn Park, Minn.); Lee Stecklein** (Jr., D, Roseville, Minn.)

University of Minnesota Duluth

Lynn Astrup (So., D, Warroad, Minn.); Catherine Daoust (So., D, L'Île-Bizard, Québec); Linnea Hedin (So., D, Huddinge, Sweden); Lara Stalder (Jr., F, Lucerne, Switzerland)

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Amanda Conway (So., F, Naperville, Ill.); Anna-Maria Fiegert** (Jr., D, Landshut, Germany); Sean Flanagan** (Jr., D, Kindersly, Saskatchewan); Cole Huggins** (Jr., G, Centennial, Colo.); Jon Jutzi*** (Sr., D, Tavistock, Ontario); Anna Keys (So., D, Cottage Grove, Minn.); Victoria Løvdal (So., D, Fredrikstad, Norway); Amanda Martin (So., F, Peoria, Ariz.); Dylan Margonari*** (Sr., F, Greensburg, Pa.); Aaron Nelson (So., G, Bismark, N.D.); Jordan Nelson** (Jr., F, Williston, N.D.)

St. Cloud State University

Hanna Brodt*** (Sr., F, Roseville, Minn.); Caroline Markström** (Jr., D, Kovland, Sweden); Christa Moody** (Jr., D, Battle Creek, Mich.); Jenna Radford** (Jr., D/F, Soldotna, Alaska); Vanessa Spataro (Sr., F, Stouffville, Ontario); Emma Turbyville (So., D, Chicago, Ill.)

**** indicates four-time recipient; *** indicates three-time recipient; ** indicates two-time recipient

Top Stories

Tag(s): State Of Hockey  News  College