skip navigation

Ms. Hockey/Senior Goalie 10 Semifinalists to be announced Feb. 10

02/03/2023, 11:45am CST
By Let's Play Hockey

Five Finalists announced Feb. 17

Vivian Jungels (Edina) and Maggie Malecha (Northfield) were winners of the Ms. Hockey and Senior Goalie of the Year Awards in 2022. They are pictured with keynote speaker and Olympic Gold Medalist Karyn Bye-Dietz. Photo by Christine Wisch

The top 10 semifinalists for the Ms. Hockey Award and the Senior Goalie Award will be announced Friday, Feb. 10.

The five finalists for each award will be announced Friday, Feb. 17.

In 1997, Let’s Play Hockey held the inaugural Ms. Hockey Award banquet, honoring the second-ever Ms. Hockey, Annamarie Holmes of Apple Valley. The inaugural award went to Roseville’s Winny Brodt as part of the Mr. Hockey banquet in 1996. Most recently, Vivian Jungels of Edina was announced as the winner of the 2022 Ms. Hockey Award. Maggie Malecha of Northfield was awarded the 2022 Senior Goalie of the Year Award. The winners he 2023 awards will be announced Sunday, Feb. 26 in St. Paul at the annual Ms. Hockey Banquet. 

Ms. Hockey is presented to the top senior girls' high school hockey player in the state, based on the following criteria: academics, community/extra-curricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.

The Ms. Hockey candidates are identified based on nominations by their coaches. The selection of the top 10 candidates, then the five finalists, and ultimately the winner, is based on consultations with a panel of Division I and III college women’s coaches from the states of Minnesota and Wisconsin, as well as a panel of high school coaches. The same process is used to select the Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award winner.

Past award winners are listed below.

Details for the Ms. Hockey Banquet will be released with ticket information in the coming weeks. 


Ms. Hockey Winners

Year Player Team/School
1996 Winny Brodt Roseville
1997 Annamarie Holmes Apple Valley
1998 Laura Slominski Burnsville
1999 Ronda Curtin Roseville
2000 Krissy Wendell Park Center
2001 Renee Curtin Roseville
2002 Ashley Albrecht South St. Paul
2003 Andrea Nichols Hibbing/Chisholm
2004 Erica McKenzie Hastings
2005 Gigi Marvin Warroad
2006 Allie Thurnstrom North St. Paul
2007 Katharine Chute Blake
2008 Sarah Erickson Bemidji
2009 Becky Kortum Hopkins
2010 Bethany Brausen Roseville Area
2011 Karley Sylvester Warroad
2012 Hannah Brandt Hill-Murray
2013 Dani Cameranesi Blake
2014 Sydney Baldwin Minnetonka
2015 Taylor Williamson Edina
2016 Presley Norby Minnetonka
2017 Grace Zumwinkle Breck School
2018 Taylor Heise Red Wing
2019 Madeline Wethington Blake
2020 Olivia Mobley Breck School
2021 Peyton Hemp Andover
2022 Vivian Jungels Edina

Senior Goalie of the Year Winners

Year, Player, Team
1999 - Katie Beauduy, Blaine
2000 — Shari Vogt, River Lakes
2001 — Jody Horak, Blaine
2002 — Amber Hasbargen, Warroad
2003 — Robin Doepke, Chaska
2004 — Emily Brookshaw, Hill-Murray
2005 — Johanna Ellison, Cloquet/Esko/Carlton
2006 — Alannah McCready, Centennial
2007 — Ashley Nixon, Blaine
2008 — Alyssa Grogan, Eagan
2009 — Laura Bellamy, Duluth Northern Stars
2010 — Kallie Billadeau, Hopkins
2011 — Julie Friend, Minnetonka
2012 — Erika Allen, Roseville
2013 — Sydney Rossman, Minnetonka
2014 — Erin O'Neil, Hopkins
2015 — Frances Marshall, Thief River Falls
2016 — Jenna Brenneman, Breck
2017 — Breanna Blesi, Maple Grove
2018 — Alexa Dobchuk, Eden Prairie
2019 — Calla Frank, White Bear Lake
2020 - Anna LaRose, North Wright County
2021 - Brynn Dulac, Minnetonka HS
2022 - Maggie Malecha, Northfield HS

Tag(s): State Of Hockey