skip navigation

Hobey Baker nominees announced

01/20/2023, 1:45am CST
By Press Release

Several Minnesotans up for award - Fan voting is open

Brock Faber is one of several Minnesota-born players nominated for the Hobey Baker Award. Fan voting for the award is now open. Photo by Brace Hemmelgarn

Hobey Baker Award Fan Balloting Now Open - Hydrated by BioSteel

St. Paul, Minn. –  It's Hobey Baker time. Beginning Thursday, Jan. 19, fan balloting opened for the 2023 Hobey Baker Award.

Awarded annually to college hockey's top player, the Hobey Baker's tremendously popular fan-voting will run from now until Sunday, March 5 at midnight. College hockey fans can cast their vote by going to the voting website

Follow the prompts to make your selection from this year's outstanding crop of over 80 college hockey players representing 43 NCAA Division I schools. Please spend some additional time to check out the detailed bios by following the links on each candidate at

Phase two of fan balloting will come from the list of Top Ten Hobey Baker finalists beginning March 17 and closing March 26. The fans' vote accounts for a percentage of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year's award recipient.

Award criteria include candidates exhibiting the exceptional character traits of the award's namesake, Hobey Baker. A legendary American hero, Baker was a World War I fighter pilot and was known as America's greatest amateur athlete in his day, excelling at hockey and football at Princeton University. Award candidates must demonstrate strength of character both on and off the ice, contribute to the integrity of his team and display outstanding skills in all phases of the game. Consideration should be given to scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.

Key Hobey Baker announcement dates for 2023 include:

  • Top Ten list of finalists: March 15
  • Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists: March 30
  • Hobey Baker Award announcement: April 7

The 2023 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on Friday, April 7, 2023 during the NCAA Frozen Four Championship in Tampa Bay, FL. The award ceremony will be broadcast nationally on NHL Network and streamed live at For more info on the Hobey Baker Award please visit Be sure to also follow Hobey Baker on Twitter for more updates. 

To access the Hobey logo and trophy photos, please visit

Hobey Baker Award Nominees

Dylan Anhorn - St. Cloud State University
Jacob Bengtsson - Lake Superior State University
Blake Bennett - American International College
Mike Benning - University of Denver
Mitch Benson - Boston College
Carl Berglund - University of Massachusetts Lowell
Louis Boudon - Lake Superior State University
Jacques Bouquot - University of Vermont
Ben Brar - Merrimack College
Matt Brown - Boston University
Mathieu Caron - Brown University
Gianfranco Cassaro - Rochester Institute of Technology
Matthew Coronato - Harvard University
Ryan Cox - Niagara University
Max Crozier - Providence College
Grant Cruikshank - St. Cloud State University
Dylan St. Cyr - Michigan State University
Jakub Dobeš - Ohio State University
Emil Zetterquist - St. Lawrence University
Brock Faber - University of Minnesota
Adam Fantilli - University of Michigan
Sean Farrell - Harvard University
Domenick Fensore - Boston University
Parker Ford - Providence College
Riese Gaber - University of North Dakota
Cutter Gauthier - Boston College
Andre Ghantous - Northern Michigan University
Liam Gorman - Princeton University
Collin Graf - Quinnipiac University
Gustavs Davis Grigals - University of Massachusetts Lowell
Justin Hryckowian - Northeastern University
Luke Hughes - University of Michigan
Lane Hutson - Boston University
Jake Livingstone - Minnesota State University, Mankato
Dominic James - University of Minnesota Duluth
Chris Jandric - University of North Dakota
Trevor Janicke - University of Notre Dame
Alex Jefferies - Merrimack College
Wyatt Kaiser - University of Minnesota Duluth
Jami Krannila - St. Cloud State University
Jackson LaCombe - University of Minnesota
Alex Laferriere - Harvard University
Nick Leivermann - University of Notre Dame
Devon Levi - Northeastern University
Mason Lohrei - Ohio State University
Cruz Lucius - University of Wisconsin–Madison
Ryan Mahshie - Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Carter Mazur - University of Denver
Kaidan Mbereko - Colorado College
Ryan McAllister - Western Michigan University
Aidan McDonough - Northeastern University
Hunter McKown - Colorado College
Ty Mueller - University of Nebraska Omaha
Ethan Pearson - Princeton University
Yaniv Perets - Quinnipiac University
Blake Pietila - Michigan Technological University
Jason Polin - Western Michigan University
Eamon Powell - Boston College
Matt Radomsky - University of Alaska Fairbanks
Jack Randl - University of Nebraska Omaha
Massimo Rizzo - University of Denver
Elias Rosén - Bemidji State University
Max Sasson - Western Michigan University
Tommy Scarfone - Rochester Institute of Technology
Ian Shane - Cornell University
Neil Shea - Sacred Heart University
David Silye - Minnesota State University, Mankato
Liam Souliere - Pennsylvania State University
Ben Steeves - University of Minnesota Duluth
Robert Mastrosimone - Arizona State University
Austen Swankler - Bowling Green State University
TJ Semptimphelter - Arizona State University
Ryan Tverberg - University of Connecticut
AJ Vanderbeck - Northern Michigan University
Chad Veltri - Niagara University
Anthony Vincent - Long Island University
Kevin Wall - Pennsylvania State University
Pito Walton - Princeton University
Carter Wilkie - Rochester Institute of Technology
Jake Wise - Ohio State University
Alex Young - Colgate University
Will Zmolek - Bemidji State University

Six keys to improve skating speed & efficiency

12/09/2020, 3:26am CST
By Jack Blatherwick, Let's Play Hockey Columnist

Efficient high-end speed is highly trainable.

All that matters

04/19/2018, 11:00am CDT
By Bryan Zollman, Let's Play Hockey

When can my kid start skating?

09/17/2019, 11:30am CDT
By Andy Ness

When is the right time to start your son or daughter into skating or even into hockey?


Top 50 Players in Minnesota Boys’ High School Hockey (2017-18)

11/22/2017, 12:00pm CST
By Let's Play Hockey

As selected by Let's Play Hockey staff

Top 75 Players in Minnesota Boys’ High School Hockey (2018-19)

11/21/2018, 11:45am CST
By Let's Play Hockey

As selected by Let's Play Hockey staff


Hill-Murray players file lawsuit against MSHSL

03/30/2021, 11:15am CDT
By Bryan Zollman

Five dealbreakers for scouts

03/29/2018, 9:00am CDT
By Kim McCullough, M.Sc, YCS

If you want to play at the next level, you have to pay attention to the little details

Tag(s): State Of Hockey