skip navigation

Mr. Hockey Finalists announced

03/19/2021, 2:15pm CDT
By Press release

Jackson Hallum is one of 10 finalists for the coveted Mr. Hockey Award. The St. Thomas Academy forward was chosen in the 2020 NHL Draft.

37th Annual Awards Banquet will be held virtually on April 5.

Blake goaltender Aksel Reid is one of 3 finalists for the annual Frank Brimsek Award.

SAINT PAUL, Minn. – The Minnesota All Sports Alliance today announced the Top Ten Candidates for the 37th Annual Mr. Hockey Award are: Carter Batchelder (Eden Prairie), Cam Boche (Lakeville South), Jackson Hallum (St. Thomas Academy), Kyle Kukkonen (Maple Grove), Luke Levandowski (Rosemount), Luke Mittelstadt (Eden Prairie), Henry Nelson (Maple Grove), Joe Palodichuk (Hill-Murray), Jack Peart (Grand Rapids) and Joey Pierce (Hermantown).

The Minnesota All Sports Alliance also announced today that Aksel Reid (Blake), Alex Timmons (Gentry Academy) and Jack Wieneke (Maple Grove) are the finalists for The Frank Brimsek Award, in recognition of the state’s top senior goaltender. Henry Boucha is the recipient of the fourth annual Mr. Hockey Ambassador Award, given to an influential leader dedicated to the growth and development of hockey in Minnesota.

The 37th annual Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet will be held virtually starting at 4 p.m. on Monday, April 5 at TRIA Rink in downtown Saint Paul and hosted by Katie Emmer. CLICK HERE for the Zoom link. The Minnesota State High School League Boys’ Hockey Tournament will be held at Xcel Energy Center March 30-31 and April 2-3. The Minnesota Wild sponsor the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet. The Mr. Hockey Award is hosted, coordinated, and presented by the Minnesota All Sports Alliance.

The Mr. Hockey Award is given to the outstanding senior high school boys’ hockey player in the state of Minnesota and is selected by a panel of National Hockey League Scouts, Junior Scouts/Coaches and selected media members from around the state. Four other awards will be presented at the banquet: The Frank Brimsek Award, The John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and Class AA high school coaches of the year, The Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the “Old Timer Coach” of the year and the Mr. Hockey Ambassador Award. 

Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: Blake Biondi (2020), Bryce Brodzinski(2019), Sam Walker (2018), Casey Mittelstadt (2017), Riley Tufte (2016), Jake Jaremko (2015), Avery Peterson (2014), Grant Besse (2013), Justin Kloos (2012), Kyle Rau (2011), Nick Bjugstad (2010), Nick Leddy (2009), Aaron Ness (2008), Ryan McDonagh (2007), David Fischer (2006), Brian Lee (2005), Tom Gorowsky (2004), Nate Dey (2003), Gino Guyer (2002), Marty Sertich (2001), Paul Martin (2000), Jeff Taffe (1999), John Pohl (1998), Aaron Miskovich (1997), Dave Spehar (1996), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Mike Crowley (1994), Nick Checco (1993), Brian Bonin (1992), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Trent Klatt (1989), Larry Olimb (1988), Kris Miller (1987), George Pelawa (1986) and Tom Chorske (1985).

Previous Frank Brimsek Award winners are: Hudson Hodges (2020), Charlie Glockner(2019), Atticus Kelly (2018), Jake Begley (2017), Nick Althaus (2016), Dyllan Lubbesmeyer (2015), Hunter Shepard (2014), David Zevnik (2013), Michael Bitzer (2012), Alex Lyon (2011), Zane Gothberg (2010), Casey O’Connor (2009), Joe Phillippi (2008), Reid Ellingson (2007), Austin Lee (2006), Alec Richards (2005), Matt Lundin (2004), Jon Anderson (2003), Josh Johnson (2002), Eric Aarnio (2001), Jake Brant (2000), Adam Laaksonen (1999), Adam Coole (1998), Kyle Kolquist (1997), Karl Goehring (1996) and Todd Kelzenberg (1995).

Top Stories

  • The New Bosses

  • 11/02/2017, 6:45am CDT , By Andrew Vitalis
  • Former University of Minnesota players and assistant coaches Nadine Muzerall and Grant Potulny are now the head coaches at Ohio State and Northern Michigan, respectively
  • Read More

Who are the top 20 Wild players of all-time? Find out our picks here:

Tag(s): State Of Hockey  Mr. Hockey/Brimsek