skip navigation

Andover ends Edina's reign in AA

02/22/2020, 11:30pm CST
By Let's Play Hockey

Krause's third-period goal breaks 3-3 tie

Andover ended Edina’s reign in Class AA with a 5-3 win to claim their first state championship in girl’s hockey.

Andover spent much of the year ranked No. 1, flip-flopping with the Hornets along the way.  The two teams opened the season against each other and ended it against each other. Ironically Andover won both meetings, and it was Edina’s only two defeats all season.

In Saturday’s championship game it looked as though Edina would win their fourth title in four years when they scored a pair of power-play goals 25 seconds apart.  Their leading scorer Emma Conner found the back of the net at the 8:53 mark. Just 25 seconds later Katie Davis scored for a 2-0 Hornets lead.

But the Huskies did the same, scoring a pair of goals 23 seconds apart. Gabby Krause got them on board with 91 seconds remaining in the period and Peyton Hemp scored at the 15:52mark to tie the game.

Edina didn’t waste much time in the second period when Davis scored her second of the game just 47 seconds into the period. But Andover tied just over two minutes later on a goal by Tyra Turner.

The game stayed deadlocked for the next 27 minutes. It wasn’t until Krause scored her second of the game to break the tie. Isa Goettl scored an empty netter with 30 seconds left to seal the victory.

Both teams finished the season with two losses. Andover’s losses came against Class A champion Breck and state entrant Hill-Murray. Edina’s losses were both against Andover.

The Huskies outshot the Hornets 28-16. Krause finished with two goals and an assist. Conner finished with a goal and an assist for the Hornets. Vivian Jungels and Hannah Chorske each had two assists for Edina.

Andover reached Saturday’s title game by defeating Minnetonka 4-3 in overtime Friday. The beat Farmington 6-0 in the quarterfinals. 

Minnetonka defeated Maple Grove 3-1 to win the third-place game. Roseau defeated Hill-Murray 4-0 for the consolation title.  

All-Tournament Team
Class AA: Roseau --- Memphis Mertens, F. Maple Grove --- Brooke Cassibo, G. Minnetonka --- Hanna Baskin, D; Maggie Nicholson, D; Brynn Dulac, G. Edina --- Tella Jungels, F; Hannah Chorske, F; Vivian Jungels, D. Andover --- Peyton Hemp, F; Jamie Nelson, F; Kennedy Little, D; Gabby Krause, F.
Herb Brooks Award: Class AA: Anika Stoskopf, Roseau.


Tag(s): State Of Hockey  Bryan Zollman