skip navigation

Chaska’s Mike Koster wins 2019 Reed Larson Award

03/07/2019, 5:00pm CST
By Let's Play Hockey

Future Gopher named top senior boys’ high school hockey defenseman in Minnesota

Mike Koster, a senior defenseman on the Chaska High School boys’ hockey team, has been named the winner of the 2019 Reed Larson Award. The award, presented to the top senior boys’ high school hockey defenseman in Minnesota, is based on the following criteria: academics, community/extracurricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.

An offensive force from the blue line, Koster had 20 goals and 41 assists for 61 points in 26 games this season to lead the state in scoring by a defenseman. The owner of 16 multi-point games, he helped Chaska post a 19-8-0 overall record and a number 13 ranking in Class AA. Thanks in part to Koster’s offensive prowess, Chaska finished the regular season ranked first in the state with only 143 goals.

A two-year captain, Koster is also a finalist for the 2019 Mr. Hockey Award. He will play his college hockey at Minnesota.

“Mike is a phenomenal young man on and off the ice,” Chaska head coach Dave Snuggerud said. “Since his freshman year, he has led by example in practice, in the locker room and through his on-ice accolades. Mike prides himself on defensive skill with the ability to rush the puck offensively or use his vision to send teammates up the ice.”

Off the ice, Koster owns a 3.72 GPA and will finish high school with a full year of college courses already completed. In addition, he served as manager of the Chaska girls’ soccer team and has volunteered his time with his church, Feed My Starving Children and Loaves & Fishes Minnesota.

“Mike takes pride in the Chaska community, helping volunteer with youth hockey and staying involved with other programs in school,” Snuggerud said. “He is an active member of his church, and has volunteered countless hours around the community with his church group.”

The other candidates for the award were Tommy Bergsland (Wayzata), Grant Docter (Minnetonka), Sam Elasky (Lakeville South), Joey Foss (Elk River/Zimmerman), Darian Gotz (Hermantown), Nick Hauck (Blaine), Jake Holmstrom (Southwest Christian/Richfield), Keegan Langefels (Eden Prairie), Josh Luedtke (Minnetonka), Danny Magnuson (Cretin-Derham Hall), Joe McNamara (Buffalo), Frederick Paine (Duluth East), Darren Shykes (Duluth Denfeld), Mike Vorlicky (Edina) and Gavin Wendorf (Bloomington Jefferson)

Past winners: 2018 Luke LaMaster (Duluth East), 2017 Dylan Samberg (Hermantown), 2016 Wyatt Aamodt (Hermantown), 2015 Jacob Olson (Hill-Murray), 2014 Luc Snuggerud (Eden Prairie), 2013 Jake Bischoff (Grand Rapids).

Top Stories

Tag(s): State Of Hockey  News  Reed Larson Award